Who knew window light could be so amazing?

GuillenS_Blogweek3:2

So for those of you following along on my weekly posts, you know that I am required to post at least once a week on this blog. I am currently a photography student at Randolph Community College in Asheboro, NC. It’s an extremely difficult program but one I am still in love with despite the many times I’ve been on the verge of tears. My instructors are genuine people who love teaching and really want the best for each of us in the program. Kevin is our program director and the instructor who is currently teaching us about product lighting.

GuillenS_BlogWeek3

Our first assignment for him was to photograph a product (of any kind) in available light. For those who don’t know much about photography, available light is any light that occurs naturally without electricity. My old roommate Stephanie moved out about a month ago and her room is completely empty now so I knew that the window light in her old room was absolutely beautiful at the right time of day. I decided to shoot my product using two black pieces of matte board and a wooden tray that I purchased from Hobby Lobby (my fav place ever.) The pictures turned out a lot better than I initially expected. There are definitely areas that I could improve on but overall I think that these images show my personal growth as a photographer.

See ya next week!

4 thoughts on “Who knew window light could be so amazing?

  1. Serene,
    Like everyone else has said, that frosty bottle is great. It is amazing to see you grow as a photographer as time has gone on. Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

